The Team

TAG Launch 01-11-15 034

Anvil Hire Yamaha

TAG Racing made their debut in the MCE British Superbike Championship in 2014 as they progressed to the premier class following five successful seasons competing in the Motorpoint British Supersport Championship.

The team were asked to move up into the blue ribboned class at the end of the 2013 season, and they changed machinery to the proven Kawasaki ZX-10R with Richard Cooper stepping up to the big bike and they would also sign up and coming Aussie, Mitchell Carr.

The season was troublesome to say the least with a string of injuries to Carr, and a badly broken arm ruled Cooper out for the rest of the year after the sixth round, the meeting prior Cooper achieved his first ever Superbike podium in the wet at Brands Hatch.

Veterans Scott Smart and Glen Richards took the seats for a couple of rounds until youngster Shaun Winfield stepped up to the Superbike, while also competing in the Superstock 1000 class, coping well with the change and impressing many with his lap times.

In the winter on the run up to the 2015 season, Swede Filip Backlund joined the team after making his superbike debut in the last four rounds of last season, scoring a best finish of ninth on board the FFX Yamaha, with Shaun Winfield stepping up after an impressive end to the 2014 season. Richard Cooper also regained his seat, after coming back to full fitness following his broken arm.

The 2015 season was set to be a great one for the Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki team, and at the sixth round of the season Cooper achieved his and the teams best ever Superbike finish with a double podium at Brands Hatch.

But following a tough end to the 2015 campaign, the team made a change in machinery, and switched to Yamaha. The new look saw new riders enter the fold, with Billy McConnell returning to the team following his successful first year back in BSB on board the BMW, and American James Rispoli stepping up to the Superbike class. Shaun Winfield retained his seat, and set his sights on improving the results achieving in his first full season.

Prior to the start of the season, Billy McConnell left the team due to personal reasons leaving the team down to two riders of Shaun Winfield and James Rispoli.

Following a tough 2016, where the team picked up only three points. 2017 saw Josh Brookes, the 2015 Champion, put pen to paper with TAG racing. Both Brookes and the team proved the doubters, and missed out on the title by just three points at the final round of the season.